Jump to content


Photo

Macintosh User Group [MUG] Client 1.3 Poll


40 replies to this topic

Poll: What OS X hardware do you use? (82 member(s) have cast votes)

What Mac do you primarily use to play EL?

  1. iMac G3 (1 votes [1.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.22%

  2. iMac G4 (3 votes [3.66%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.66%

  3. iMac G5 (9 votes [10.98%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.98%

  4. iMac Intel (i386) (8 votes [9.76%])

    Percentage of vote: 9.76%

  5. iBook G3 (1 votes [1.22%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.22%

  6. iBook G4 (3 votes [3.66%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.66%

  7. Powerbook G3 (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  8. Powerbook G4 (6 votes [7.32%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.32%

  9. MacBook or MacBook Pro (26 votes [31.71%])

    Percentage of vote: 31.71%

  10. PowerMac G3 (3 votes [3.66%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.66%

  11. PowerMac G4 (9 votes [10.98%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.98%

  12. PowerMac G5 (5 votes [6.10%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.10%

  13. other Mac (8 votes [9.76%])

    Percentage of vote: 9.76%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 0ctane

0ctane

    Spider

  • Members
  • 684 posts

Posted 10 July 2006 - 10:49 AM

Well, I had been thinking about making this post for quiet some time, and I have now gotten around to it. Welcome to EL Mac users! I have tried my best to bring a working version of EL to the Macintosh, and I continue to work on OS X related issues in the game. I have created a separate bugs page where you can report problems, but this thread is dedicated to getting to know other Mac users. The poll will also let me know what hardware is most common so that I can maybe optimize the game.

OS X EL game updates can always be found at my website.

Edited by 0ctane, 02 August 2006 - 01:20 AM.


#2 pennifuin

pennifuin

    Snake

  • Members
  • 552 posts
  • Location:Tarsengaard

Posted 10 July 2006 - 11:19 AM

My Imac g3 is almost dead, but its the only computer i have at home, lets hope it works >.< runnign 10.3.9 so its just a case of can it handle it.

#3 Raqi

Raqi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 July 2006 - 08:01 PM

Greetings! I run the latest client on a PowerMac G5 single 1.6 Ghz. I'm running 10.3.9 becuase I waited 9 months for 10.3 to come out so that ProTools LE would run on the G5 without crashing. I'm going to keep it until it doesn't run anything anymore! The Mac was optimized for A/V production but lately I don't have any gigs and spend all of my time working on Alch... go figure.

Thanks for writing the Mac client, it works like a charm!

#4 setec

setec

    White Rabbit

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 December 2006 - 10:26 PM

I play on a MacBook Pro 15.4" Dual Core Duo (Early 2006 version) with 2 GB of RAM.

Thanks for porting this!

Edited by setec, 19 December 2006 - 04:57 AM.


#5 Kahal

Kahal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 02:14 PM

im running the latest client on a powerbook g4 1.5ghz with 1 gig of ram and osx 10.4.8

once again thanks for porting the mac client 0ctane!

#6 AluminA

AluminA

    White Rabbit

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Location:35 9'0.51&quot;N/139 6'42.05&quot;E
  • Interests:to read bans forum for myself to get good lessons.<br />nite clubbing, mountain biking

Posted 12 December 2006 - 07:11 PM

Thank you 0ctane for supporting EL mac port. and nice to meet you EL Mac users.
it took a long time for me to find this thread
since i met 0ctane once in the game at DP cotton patch after new harvestable items were added.

I'm on Power Mac G4 (AGP grphics) with :
Sonnet CPU 1.4GHz
Memory 1280MB
ATI Radeon 9200 (PCI grfx card) / Rage 128 pro
Microsoft Trackball
latest update of MacOS (MacOS X ver 10.4.8)

See you around on the Eternal Lands

#7 pennifuin

pennifuin

    Snake

  • Members
  • 552 posts
  • Location:Tarsengaard

Posted 16 December 2006 - 04:27 AM

0ctane you wizard...works on my G3. i dont know hwo but it works.!

#8 candlegoat

candlegoat

    White Rabbit

  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted 04 July 2007 - 01:41 PM

I use the mac el port on an intel mac mini, which isn't part of the choices at the top of this thread. Mac mini represent!

#9 Doc_Savage

Doc_Savage

    White Rabbit

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 09 July 2007 - 03:27 AM

I made the switch to mac about 2 months ago and will never go back. It has been a wonderful experience and I really enjoy the system. I run the client on my macbook with 1 gig of ram and it runs like a dream.

Doc_Savage

#10 rmiles

rmiles

    Beaver

  • Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 10 July 2007 - 08:13 PM

I am currently running el on an ubuntu fiesty system but will be getting an imac. On the ubuntu system I have a script that changes directory to where I have my el installed and then starts up el. On the mac how is the el started? also I have my settings in ~/.elc directory. can this be moved to the mac? ;)

#11 0ctane

0ctane

    Spider

  • Members
  • 684 posts

Posted 10 July 2007 - 08:52 PM

I am currently running el on an ubuntu fiesty system but will be getting an imac. On the ubuntu system I have a script that changes directory to where I have my el installed and then starts up el. On the mac how is the el started? also I have my settings in ~/.elc directory. can this be moved to the mac? :devlish:

The Mac EL client is like any other Mac application. You just double-click it to run. Preferences (i.e. all the stuff in your ~/.elc) go into ~/Library/Application Support/Eternal Lands/. Do not copy your el.ini file. It is better to have the game create it for you the first time. Cheers.

#12 Michic0_oL

Michic0_oL

    Boar

  • Members
  • 763 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 July 2007 - 12:43 PM

i got a mac book pro, haven't got any problems, even on #cls, just 1 or 2 times :P

#13 Enly

Enly

    Spider

  • Members
  • 692 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:A far green country, under a swift sunrise

Posted 11 July 2007 - 12:48 PM

I've got an iMac G5, and EL runs quite smoothly, unless I have to many applications running at once :) Good work 0ctane :P

#14 rmiles

rmiles

    Beaver

  • Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 08:27 PM

I am currently running el on an ubuntu fiesty system but will be getting an imac. On the ubuntu system I have a script that changes directory to where I have my el installed and then starts up el. On the mac how is the el started? also I have my settings in ~/.elc directory. can this be moved to the mac? :huh:

The Mac EL client is like any other Mac application. You just double-click it to run. Preferences (i.e. all the stuff in your ~/.elc) go into ~/Library/Application Support/Eternal Lands/. Do not copy your el.ini file. It is better to have the game create it for you the first time. Cheers.


But how about the map marks and the map files and quest logs?

#15 0ctane

0ctane

    Spider

  • Members
  • 684 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 08:28 PM

But how about the map marks and the map files and quest logs?

They all go into the same place. =)

#16 Slavia

Slavia

    Rat

  • Members
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Vancouver, BC Canada

Posted 11 July 2007 - 09:54 PM

Hi guys, just thought i'd introduce myself. I'm Slavia. :) Anyway I've been playing (not very often tho) for a little over a year now. Thanks 0ctane for all the hard work you do to make it playable on my Mac! (powerbook g4)

#17 draegox

draegox

    Skunk

  • Members
  • 102 posts
  • Location:Here, there and everywhere. Look up! (Oh, right, we can't do that yet. What a shame!)
  • Interests:Flying, spellcasting, hunting so far nonexistent computerized birds. And playing EL. Obviously.

Posted 17 July 2007 - 06:48 PM

Hi, I'm draegox, I have an iMac G5 on OS 10.3.9, and a zillion thanks to 0ctane for allowing us Mac users to play such a great game. :)

#18 rmiles

rmiles

    Beaver

  • Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 23 July 2007 - 12:22 AM

I just got an imac for my birthday. I have downloaded the osx version of el and installed it.
I am running full screen so I hide the dock but I wonder if there is a minimize action for the full screen version? Your assistance would be appreciated :happy:

#19 0ctane

0ctane

    Spider

  • Members
  • 684 posts

Posted 23 July 2007 - 03:53 AM

I just got an imac for my birthday. I have downloaded the osx version of el and installed it.
I am running full screen so I hide the dock but I wonder if there is a minimize action for the full screen version? Your assistance would be appreciated :happy:

Sorry, but EL does not run like other Mac applications. EL runs using some cross-platform code called SDL. SDL on Macs (unfortunately) does not behave as Mac users would expect. Normal Apple+? key combos are not recognized.

A long term goal/dream is to make EL native on Macs (i.e. stop using the SDL), but that requires time I do not have right now.

Edited by 0ctane, 23 July 2007 - 03:54 AM.


#20 rmiles

rmiles

    Beaver

  • Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 23 July 2007 - 08:55 PM

Okay thank you for your answer. Now I know why apple+? keys do not work. I am thinking of making the dock hide so that I can access it by moving the mouse to the bottom edge.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users