Eternal Lands Official Forums
jamincollins

Specific Bot market channel?

Should there be a bot specific market channel?  

159 members have voted

1. 1. Would you use a bot specific market channel?

• Yes, I would use it
    • I might use it, if all the bots were there
    • I will only use it if all the bots are removed from #3
    • I can find my way to bots I need, without a channel
    • I don't use bots

Please read all of this before voting.

I would like to get player opinion for something a few of us have been tossing around for a while. A bot specific market channel.

This channel would be monitored by trade bots in much the same way that bots currently handle PMs. That is a player would join the channel and send a command to all listening bots simply by posting in channel. For example a player looking to buy rostogols would type something like the following:

@@## inv rostogol

where ## is the channel number. The bots in channel would then parse the message just like they would a normal PM. The difference however would be limiting responses to only those that have the item being requested.

Likewise a player looking for a bot that buys an item would send something like the following:

@@## wanted rostogol

This would allow players to query multiple bots at once rather than having to PM tens of bots in succession looking for one that happens to be selling what they are after. It would also lead to a reduction in the advertising spam currently found on market as bots would no longer need to advertise in hopes of being remembered or getting noticed. A new bot need only support the channel command set and carry items players are looking for.

Obviously, the exact command set would need to be discussed and documented, but I'd like to get an idea of player opinion on the topic first.