Jump to content


Photo

How To Access The PK Server.


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Superman

Superman

    Brownie

  • Members
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:=]

Posted 25 February 2008 - 04:07 PM

Hi. :D

People have said in other Threads they are un-sure on how to get to the PK Server, so I decided to post a Step by Step Guild, including Images, to show you how to get there. There is also a Link on the Main EL website, with some Information you'll need about the Server, it can be found Here.

Ok, so lets start explaining how to connect to the PK Server. :brooding:

Step 1:

First, you'll need to make sure you have a Eternal Lands shortcut on your Desktop. (Should already be there because once you install EL, it auto-installs one there.) Now.. Right click on the Icon on your desktop. Then click 'Create Shortcut' like this:

Posted Image

Step 2:

Now you should have 2 EL Icons on your Desktop. Now, Right click on the Icon you just made, and rename it to something like PK Server, or EL PK Server, something so you know that it's the PK Server, and not the main server. :D

Step 3:

Now it's renamed, you'll need to right click on the PK Server Icon, and go to Properties, like this:

Posted Image

Step 4:

Now you should have a screen come up with the Properties for that Icon, now you need to change the Target. (Location of the server), It should look something like this:

Posted Image

Please note, the location, example: "C:\Program Files\Eternal Lands\el.exe" could change, depends where you have EL installed.

Step 5:

Now that should be all finished, click 'Ok' and then 'Ok' again, and all should be done, run the PK Server icon, and see if you connect to the Server. :D

- Some notes, There should be a space between the last " and the pk part, if theres not, it wont work. :)

Well I hope that helped people, if you get any problems post here or Forum PM me. :)

edit - Please note this is for Windows Users only!!

Edited by Superman, 26 February 2008 - 10:13 AM.


#2 Stricken

Stricken

    Skeleton

  • Members
  • 1000 posts

Posted 26 February 2008 - 12:08 AM

You should have this topic pinned

#3 Superman

Superman

    Brownie

  • Members
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:=]

Posted 26 February 2008 - 12:12 AM

Yeah, I was hoping someone would Pin It, maybe it would be a good idea to do a link to the Topic on the PK Server page? So people can know it's here without going through all the Forums. :icon13:

edit - Spelling.

Edited by Superman, 26 February 2008 - 12:12 AM.


#4 Roja

Roja

    Unicorn

  • Admin
  • 8802 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 26 February 2008 - 01:06 AM

Your pics aren't showing up :icon13:
Anyway, pics aren't really necessary, but it does have to be explained in detail. If you can do that I'll pin the topic. Thanks for writing this! :wub:

Edit: now they're showing up..still is good to write it out in case they don't though.

#5 Learner

Learner

    Ant

  • Admin
  • 5434 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MN, USA
  • Interests:Persistent RPG

Posted 26 February 2008 - 01:10 AM

Your pics aren't showing up :icon13:
Anyway, pics aren't really necessary, but it does have to be explained in detail. If you can do that I'll pin the topic. Thanks for writing this! :wub:

Edit: now they're showing up..still is good to write it out in case they don't though.

Editting the pics to get rid of the desktop might be good also.

#6 Superman

Superman

    Brownie

  • Members
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:=]

Posted 26 February 2008 - 01:23 AM

Ok guys, thanks for the posts. :wub:

I think I will re-do the pics, and host them through the EL Forum Gallery, that way they should be shown all the time. I'll also trim down the current pictures to make them smaller. :icon13:

edit - Updated. :)

Edited by Superman, 26 February 2008 - 01:34 AM.


#7 EaglePrince

EaglePrince

    Skeleton

  • Members
  • 1091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

Posted 26 February 2008 - 08:35 AM

COuld someone possibly update this for non-M$ users?

#8 Superman

Superman

    Brownie

  • Members
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:=]

Posted 26 February 2008 - 10:13 AM

Wouldn't it be the same sorta thing? Create a new shortcut somewhere and add ' pk' to the ned of the target? I'm not sure ofc, only been MS all my life. :closedeyes:

Btw, I updated the images, and rehosted them on the Forums so they should work all the time. Added some more information to the Step's. I think this could be pinned. Also, I think a Mod could change the Title, and add it's for MS Windows users, not anything else. :confused:

Thanks!

#9 Atlantis

Atlantis

    Feran

  • Members
  • 2035 posts
  • Location:sunny_moon
  • Interests:Dasdfadf, asdfdsf....werersdf asjkfjdsf ? skjdfkj....asdfasdf!

Posted 26 February 2008 - 12:19 PM

On Mac you can run it easiest by simply starting Terminal, and typing two lines.
First, change to the directory where you have EL, using "cd [the directory]", and to the folder /Contents/MacOS. The directory is usually applications.
For me, its:
cd /Applications/el_osx.app/Contents/Resources
Then, next command, simply
./el_osx pk


#10 Superman

Superman

    Brownie

  • Members
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:=]

Posted 27 February 2008 - 07:58 PM

Thanks for that post, Atlantis. And thanks to the Mod who Pinned the topic. :)

#11 Kalix

Kalix

    Fox

  • Members
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Have u ever been to c6?
  • Interests:I like to play EL :p

Posted 29 March 2008 - 12:58 AM

I just want to say that its a simmular thing for getting to the test server only when he typed pk at the end of the target type test

Edited by time4u2die, 08 October 2008 - 09:52 PM.


#12 Kylara

Kylara

    Leprechaun

  • Members
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Female

Posted 28 October 2008 - 01:50 PM

I haven't seen this mentioned anywhere, but you also have to make sure you have access to port 2002.

#13 pking

pking

    Rat

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 18 February 2009 - 05:00 PM

Tis is really great :)


It really helps :medieval:

#14 Chosen

Chosen

    Polar Bear

  • Members
  • 3056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England.
  • Interests:PKing :)

Posted 18 February 2009 - 05:36 PM

If I didn't mention it already, it's exactly the same for Windows Vista too. (Superman was my old forum account.)

#15 Finnerlorn

Finnerlorn

    Rat

  • Members
  • 63 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 May 2009 - 08:22 AM

Thanks it worked very well with that information :confused:

#16 justy

justy

    Rat

  • Members
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:exeter,devon

Posted 12 May 2009 - 05:06 PM

This also works for windows 7 beta
i will let you know if it does with the win 7 rc when i get my hands on it :D

#17 Lexi

Lexi

    Wolf

  • Members
  • 884 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Central United States
  • Interests:Currently my hobby is running my farm and website(s).

Posted 09 July 2010 - 11:00 PM

Hi if anyone can help me.

I am trying to create a new character, but it keeps coming up with "Connection Failed! Please try again." If anyone can tell me how to fix it please let me know.

Also if it's a port 2002, please tell me how to enable it. Thanks!

#18 bkc56

bkc56

    Black Panther

  • Members
  • 2254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California, USA
  • Interests:Guitar, Lego, Video/Computer games

Posted 10 July 2010 - 12:14 AM

The instructions in this thread are still valid. My shortcut is setup just as described above.

Unless you have a router of firewall that's specifically blocking the 200x ports, you shouldn't have to do anything special to enable it.

#19 Lexi

Lexi

    Wolf

  • Members
  • 884 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Central United States
  • Interests:Currently my hobby is running my farm and website(s).

Posted 10 July 2010 - 01:20 PM

Thanks it started working after about 20mins of Entrophy's message saying it's done. Sorry I didn't get around to posting until now. I think MAYBE you just have to wait a few minutes? I don't know.

#20 psihokiller4

psihokiller4

    Skunk

  • Members
  • 102 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 April 2011 - 05:45 PM

I'm really sorry but with ought pictures it's impossible to figure out

you should add in text:
Example default: "C:\Program Files\Eternal Lands\el.exe" pk

so players would know
YES I'm a Linux user but at the moment I'm at windows and until I longed in to post I can't figure it out I didn't saw pictures

so example should be in TEXT too please




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users