Eternal Lands Official Forums
PurgeGaming

Tutorial Quest Redesign Part 1 - My ideas and your feedback

Hello. For the next while I will be working on a redesign to the tutorial. My goal is to make

it better and more friendly to new players. As a noob myself, I have a view from a new player's perspective. I want to share my thoughts and get critiscisms and tips from more experienced players before completing my redesign, as I want to make it as good as possible because, even as a noob, I love Eternal Lands and I want to make it even better and easier for more people to love it.

First, I want to share my main issues with the current tutorial, to show why we need it modified.

For starters, it is, in my opinion, too long. I don't want to have to play 6+ hours to beat a tutorial. I just want to learn the game and get a good idea if I like it or not. People should not be expected to sink multiple days into a game to get a feel for what its like. Most people will quit before they even get to the good part. This length is partially due to my next point.

Secondly, the tutorial NPC is relied in too heavily. Why can't Ios, who needs summoning supplies like rat tails, ask you for 10 rats taiks making you kill 10 rats? Why can't Ayelle, who has you make fire essense, teach you how to gather the materials in various places and make the essense? Many tasks are stuck to the tutorial NPC when there is a better alternative that is already used in the quest. Walking (or teleporting) to the tutorial NPC just to go back where you were seems pretty useless, when you could save over an hour of players' time by using the other NPCs while at the same time having it make sense. The tutorial NPC should still be used in the tutorial for tasks where it makes sense to use him, such as telling you to talk to the wraith and talking about pick points. I just dont like how the NPCs in the quest are either over or ubder utilized, when they could easily be used productively.