Jump to content


Photo

Starting a Bot


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Fyvle

Fyvle

    Rat

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Auto Collision
    Scuba Diving
    Philosophy

Posted 08 January 2006 - 03:03 AM

K, I've read the stickies and browsed the fourm. And what I'm not seeing is how much does it cost to create a bot?

I've heard that you could either have a bot for $20 usd or $100 usd. So whats the difference between the two (Besides $80 usd) bot prices? What do we get for that price? This certainly can't be the price of a Bot because we don't get a bot off of EL, we have to make that and test it out on the test server.

Is it possible to have a Bot run for free on EL? Or am I gravely misinformed? (Which would just be my luck :S )

#2 Atlantis

Atlantis

    Feran

  • Members
  • 2035 posts
  • Location:sunny_moon
  • Interests:Dasdfadf, asdfdsf....werersdf asjkfjdsf ? skjdfkj....asdfasdf!

Posted 08 January 2006 - 03:37 AM

AFAIK you have to pay $20 just to have a trade bot, and 100$ if you want that bot to have the 504/504 phisique/coordination so that it can carry a bunch, I might be wrong though

#3 Fyvle

Fyvle

    Rat

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Auto Collision
    Scuba Diving
    Philosophy

Posted 08 January 2006 - 04:26 AM

Thats what I've been hearing too... but is that all there is to it? If 100 usd gets u maxed out stats, does that mean the devs create a character for you or take an exisiting character and soop it up? 20 usd allows u to use a character you've created to become a bot? Does the price also reflect the kind of bot it is, and the type of service, or location of the bot eg: closer to storage or harvestable items???

In short, what does the purchaser really get for their money?

I'd like an official answer to this (though I don't mind anyone else jumping in and giving their two cents). Perhaps putting the resulting information up in a sticky would be nice too, especially if this fee is what I think it is... a mandatory fee for a bot (which I might be wrong about).

#4 Aislinn

Aislinn

    Fluffy Gargoyle

  • Admin
  • 12760 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Florida, USA (EST)

Posted 08 January 2006 - 02:37 PM

--You CAN have a bot for free, but it cannot be a store or guard bot.
--ALL bots must be approved, including location, even for free bots. There is a form to fill out (see below).
--You make all bots. We do not make ANY for you, no matter which price bot you are getting.
--If you get a $100 bot with the souped up stats, obviously that part is done for you, but YOU still have to make the bot. What gets "souped up" is the bot's phys and coord.
--The money is for the right to have the bot ingame, after all, you are benefiting from having a store or guard bot.
--Any leveling done to the bot on your part MUST be done before it is turned into a bot.
--All testing must be done on the test server first.
--The bots located near storage are special exceptions.

--Click here: http://www.other-life.com/el/bots/
--Read the rules, then click the "I agree with the rules" button
--Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on "Register a bot".
--After submitting your request, you must wait for approval before running it ingame.

Also I would recommend you read this thread carefully as well:
http://www.eternal-l...showtopic=30163

#5 ttlanhil

ttlanhil

    Bear

  • Members
  • 5155 posts
  • Location:adl2.internode.on.net; south australia!
  • Interests:pineapples, programming, and EL 8^)

Posted 08 January 2006 - 02:45 PM

--You make all bots. We do not make ANY for you, no matter which price bot you are getting.

please note on this... some players will make bots for you or rent them to you (like Learners' rent-an-ant)... payment for these is on top of payments for it to be in the game, if either is required, unless they tell you that their fee covers the official costs

if you do this, you will be responsible for what the bot does still, saying that you paid someone else for it isn't likely to be a valid excuse, so you either trust the person you pay for it or you check the code yourself to make sure it's all okay (and if you're running it, you should be checking it anyway)

#6 Fyvle

Fyvle

    Rat

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Auto Collision
    Scuba Diving
    Philosophy

Posted 08 January 2006 - 07:43 PM

Thanks for your replies :)

I have a few more questions

1. Could we get the information you've posted above appended to one of the stickies in this forum?



--You CAN have a bot for free, but it cannot be a store or guard bot.



(Reason for dissapproval: not enough info given, only paid bots can be trade bots)


2. So do I take it only paid bots can be store, trade or guard bots?

Edit by Aisy: removed a dead link that isn't in use anymore

Edited by Aislinn, 03 January 2007 - 02:37 PM.


#7 Aislinn

Aislinn

    Fluffy Gargoyle

  • Admin
  • 12760 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Florida, USA (EST)

Posted 08 January 2006 - 08:42 PM

Trade bot is the same as a store bot. Look at this thread:
http://www.eternal-l...showtopic=17311

So the answer to #2 then is "yes".

#8 Fyvle

Fyvle

    Rat

  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Auto Collision
    Scuba Diving
    Philosophy

Posted 08 January 2006 - 09:15 PM

Trade bot is the same as a store bot. Look at this thread:
http://www.eternal-l...showtopic=17311

So the answer to #2 then is "yes".


argh! Ok, i see that now.

Thanks for the help :blink:

#9 MoJo

MoJo

    Snake

  • Members
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Éire

Posted 08 January 2006 - 09:33 PM

--You CAN have a bot for free, but it cannot be a store or guard bot.

What other kinds of bots are there?

#10 Atlantis

Atlantis

    Feran

  • Members
  • 2035 posts
  • Location:sunny_moon
  • Interests:Dasdfadf, asdfdsf....werersdf asjkfjdsf ? skjdfkj....asdfasdf!

Posted 08 January 2006 - 09:38 PM


--You CAN have a bot for free, but it cannot be a store or guard bot.

What other kinds of bots are there?

bots like iknow and deadface, eternalbroker, trivia bots, etc.

#11 simmster

simmster

    Rat

  • Members
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Diving, Biking, Swimming, Kayaking, Rugby, Shooting, and listenin to sum funkin ch00nz ! (lol)

Posted 11 January 2006 - 07:49 PM

can you have a bank bot for free or is that counted as a trade or store bot ??

#12 Cormaher

Cormaher

    Racoon

  • Members
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Sar-Sargoth
  • Interests:My wife, Fantasy, Open Source, Music...

Posted 16 January 2006 - 11:32 PM

our guild is planning to create a storage bot for guild-members only where you gain credits by putting stuff in and can get stuff out of it by the amount of credits you have.

Is this a trading / storage bot?

#13 Soldus

Soldus

    Glacian Orca

  • Members
  • 1966 posts
  • Interests:E L !

Posted 29 January 2006 - 03:08 PM

can you have a bank bot for free or is that counted as a trade or store bot ??



our guild is planning to create a storage bot for guild-members only where you gain credits by putting stuff in and can get stuff out of it by the amount of credits you have.

Is this a trading / storage bot?




Storage bots, Guild storage bots, gambling bots and everything that involves automated trading are considered trade bots and cost 20$ (and still noone is making them for you :)) or 100$ with higher attributes (aka. blessed).

This is official.

#14 Elfasar

Elfasar

    White Rabbit

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Germany, NRW, Essen

Posted 19 April 2006 - 06:11 PM


can you have a bank bot for free or is that counted as a trade or store bot ??



our guild is planning to create a storage bot for guild-members only where you gain credits by putting stuff in and can get stuff out of it by the amount of credits you have.

Is this a trading / storage bot?




Storage bots, Guild storage bots, gambling bots and everything that involves automated trading are considered trade bots and cost 20$ (and still noone is making them for you :() or 100$ with higher attributes (aka. blessed).

This is official.


What about a bot that sends informations of a website that shows things that guildmember sell?
Does this count as a trading bot also?
I think it is not. Because it is providing informations only and does not trade anyway.
But I want it offically before I get some trouble :blink:

Thanks for reply.

#15 Placid

Placid

    Snowball?

  • Members
  • 5077 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:meh

Posted 20 April 2006 - 09:06 AM

What about a bot that sends informations of a website that shows things that guildmember sell?
Does this count as a trading bot also?
I think it is not. Because it is providing informations only and does not trade anyway.
But I want it offically before I get some trouble :)

Thanks for reply.

That would be fine, there are plenty of bots that do similar things. As long as it is not trading with players and gaining profit from it, and purely providing information to players, then you don't have to pay.

#16 Torg

Torg

    Leopard

  • Members
  • 1631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Drouin, Australia

Posted 20 April 2006 - 09:20 AM

As long as it is not trading with players

Actually... that's the important part. Any bot that trades with players, must be paid for.

#17 Elfasar

Elfasar

    White Rabbit

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Germany, NRW, Essen

Posted 20 April 2006 - 11:13 AM

As long as it is not trading with players

Actually... that's the important part. Any bot that trades with players, must be paid for.


Thats the same i thougth.
Good now I have it offically.
Thanks a lot.

#18 Torg

Torg

    Leopard

  • Members
  • 1631 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Drouin, Australia

Posted 20 April 2006 - 02:38 PM

Good now I have it offically.

Actually, that's not official (see the disclaimer down there??).

Basically, I don't post anything "officially" without talking to the appropriate people, and in that case I will say "This is official"... however, there is a thread in this forum section that says pretty much that, officially. :-P

*shrug* :-)

#19 Elfasar

Elfasar

    White Rabbit

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Germany, NRW, Essen

Posted 20 April 2006 - 07:11 PM

Good now I have it offically.

Actually, that's not official (see the disclaimer down there??).

Basically, I don't post anything "officially" without talking to the appropriate people, and in that case I will say "This is official"... however, there is a thread in this forum section that says pretty much that, officially. :-P

*shrug* :-)


Good. Will remind that in future.
But thanks however.
I meant, that you confirmed my thougths.
That would be enough for the first.
The comitee that decides on bots will figure it out more accurate :(

#20 Cycloonx

Cycloonx

    Feran

  • Members
  • 2013 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted 23 April 2006 - 06:10 PM

I'm wondering, are those prices for a year, or for lifetime?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users