Eternal Lands Official Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Raserei

Eternal Lands - Feedback from random new player

So I have been playing MMOs since 1997 (The Realm being my 1st and Everquest being my 2nd)... I haven't played them all, but I have a played a lot. In 2004, WoW took the MMO genre by storm and I played that for 7+ years. After that phase, I switched to a more ARPG focus.  I never really played a true sandbox game until 2017, I tried a game called RPG MO, a sandbox pixel art game. Players in that game told me if I liked that, I should try Runescape. In 2019, I ended up trying Runescape (OSRS). Only played it for a month until I ended up losing interest. The game felt ackward. It had a lot of stuff to do but ultimately, 80%+ of the thousands of recipes were useless (to me). Like, you can craft a pie shell, then bake a pie, but there were 50+ recipes that were easier to make that gave better stats.

So what makes Eternal Lands special (IMO)?

-After coming from a mix of MMO's and ARPG's, Eternal Lands really feels awesome to play. When you harvest ANYTHING, you have a very rare chance of getting valuable items (Various stones). I can't emphasis how important that is. Games with large grinds usually miss this and have very linear grinds where you need 100,000,000 iron to max out and when you mine iron, there is nothing else. I seriously like how the entire game is designed here. Where you create a fire essence and 0.1% chance or something it will be a enriched fire essence which is valuable. So while we are still grinding heavily, there is a layered carrot on a stick type vibe that really makes feel not so grindy.

-Not only that, but low level creatures drop valuable items that high level players want. Which creates early opportunity for new players.

-Then there is the environment... Literally every inch of the land feels handcrafted and not "generated". 

-Overall level makes it so I can work on any skill I want and still progress towards more pickpoints.